believe in yourself (day 3 of #31days)

Screen Shot 2013-10-03 at 8.56.54 AM

The biggest hurdle of writing is different for everyone. But if you’re anything like me, believing in yourself might just be the first and greatest hurdle.

Grab a pen and any kind of paper. Post-it note, coffee shop napkin, whatever. Write this down:

I am a writer.

Rewind the clock a bit and get back into your five-year-old self. What did you want to be when you grew up?

Astronaut? Veterinarian? Ballerina? Firefighter? Teacher? Doctor? Barbie? (I wanted to be all of them at one point.)

Now, remember how you said it.

When we’re five, we say it proudly. We stand up straight and declare it and claim it and own it. When I grow up, I’m going to be the President. We leave no space for doubt and no space for question. We believe in ourselves.

Fast forward to the present, but don’t leave that five-year-old you there. Bring that kiddo with.

In the next mirror you pass, say it like you’re five: I am a writer. Sometimes it takes a little fake-it-till-you-make it. Keep saying it and you’ll come to believe it.

You’ve been made for something big. Believe in yourself.

10 thoughts on “believe in yourself (day 3 of #31days)

    • Love that thought, Kristi! There’s a mental element to dressing for the job we want, isn’t there? πŸ™‚ Much love, girl, and thanks for cheering me on in this.

  1. I’m in that ‘fake it till I make it’ stage write now…but I keep wondering when the people are going to find out I’m just “pretending”. πŸ˜› But no, I am taking this pursuit of writing seriously–but definitely still in the faking it stage!

    • Rachel, you read my mind . . . soon, I’m going to address exactly that! There is such a gut fear that someone’s going to find out that we’re just pretending, isn’t there? Part of that fear, I think, is driven by the self-employment aspect. Unlike other jobs, there’s no boss who hired us, no box of business cards printed for us with our job title . . . it’s so far from the traditional way that we’re told what we do! Stay tuned, friend. And I’d love to hear your thoughts on how to move from faking it to really living it and loving it!

  2. For a writing contest, I wrote a post on when I first realized that I am a writer. Although I have been writing for years, and have even professionally written, I realized I never considered myself a writer – that it was something I aspired to be. But the writing contest helped me to realize that I.am.a.writer. I tweeted “I am a writer” and I remind myself daily – because the 5-year-old me did want to be a writer. Thanks for sharing!

    • LYNN! Such a fun story. Love that. What is it about writing that makes us skittish about claiming it as what we do? And thank YOU for sharing too!

    • Aid?Ò€  It does not advocate a blanket rejection of aid, but calls for Palestinians to proactively articulate criteria for acceptable aid and when and why it should be rejected. If Palestinians and other aienedpe-ddnt

  3. Co2&unl#8d17;t agree more, Andrea. I’m just beginning to explore tools like Twitter and Facebook, and already each has proved its usefulness for getting feedback, posing questions and generally goofing off.It’s hard to say whether our world is getting smaller or more connected but I’m eager to find out.

Leave a reply

