wait, I have a blog? (and a giveaway)

Yes, I do in fact have a blog. But you couldn’t tell, could you?

This season has been a busy one and it’s not that I’m complaining. Things with the business are growing in a good way and I’m humbled.

My sweet friend Holley started a recent blog post like this:

I’m in one of my favorite coffee shops this morning. All around me I can hear the quiet buzz of conversation and an occasional burst of laughter. I’m thinking about you and imagining what it would be like if you were sitting right across from me in this moment. Wouldn’t that be fun?

So I’ll borrow a page from Holley’s book. You, me and two big cups of coffee.

coffee

If we were having coffee, I’d look around — do I see anyone I know? That sounds bold and proud in all the wrong ways, I know. But here’s the thing: knowing people in the places I go means I’m starting to call this city home. Lately, I’ve been bumping into more familiar faces and feeling a little less anonymous here. And that’s a blessing, if you ask me.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask how you are. Work? Friends? Family? How’s your heart? Eaten at any fun new restaurants?

And if you asked me what was new, I’d tell you that work is good and growing and you know that saying, a body in motion stays in motion? I just want to stay in motion. I’m eager for new projects and new endeavors and new clients.

I’d tell you that friends are good, and that I still miss college friends and Indiana friends, and I also like it here. Maybe it’s okay to have a spot in my heart for every region I’ve ever called home.

I’d thank you for cheering me on in these past few months. Mr. S. was on a marathon business trip from April to August and having him back has been good for us both. Really good for us both. Marriage is never easy, and yet I feel like we’re pointed in the same direction again. And being in the same time zone sure helps too.

How’s my heart? Thanks for asking, I’d say. I’m still stuck on a sermon from Sunday about Job. I read Job in college and haven’t returned since. It’s a book that commands reverence, commands awe, commands humility — and my heart desperately needs all three.

And the fun new restaurants . . . well, let me just tell you about an old place we rediscovered. If you’re in KC, pull out your calendar and pick a date and Mr. S. and I will join you . . .

Avenues Bistro has been a favorite since we moved back and it’s just one neighborhood north, so a great walk on a nice day. You have to call ahead and make a reservation. Ask for their “tastables” schedule. Every day at a different time (usually off hours, like before 5 and after 8), they offer a different percentage off your entire bill. We ordered two drinks each, shared an appetizer and shared a meal. Total was under $30 and we should have paid over $70. I’m almost afraid to blog about this, because I want it to be my little secret. But I’m crummy at these kinds of secrets, so have at it 🙂 The food is phenomenal.

So anyway. We’d finish our coffee and get on with our days. I’d say how much fun I had and that we should do this more often.

With that, friends, I’m back at it. Back at the blog and that’s good news. Thanks for reading 🙂

It’s your turn, now. If we were having coffee, what would you order? I’ll draw one comment randomly and you’ll win a $10 giftcard to your favorite coffee shop! 

The so fine print:

  • Prize: A $10 giftcard to your favorite coffee shop
  • To enter: Comment on this post with the words “COFFEE DATE” and tell me . . .
  • Bonus question (not necessary to be entered, but still fun): . . . what is your favorite coffee shop? And if we were having coffee, what would you order? 
  • Giveaway closes: Tuesda, August 27, 2013 at 11:59 PM CST
  • Number of winners: One. 
  • Prize ships: The United States or Canada (sorry, overseas friends! Still love you!)
  • Other stuff: One entry per e-mail address is permitted. The winner will be selected randomly and announced on Thursday, August 29.
7 thoughts on “wait, I have a blog? (and a giveaway)

  1. Coffee date! My favorite coffee shop is Ipsento in Chicago. (I think I took you there when you visited!) I would order their signature drink, The Ipsento. Honey, coconut milk, almond milk, espresso and a dash of cayenne pepper. YUM.

  2. COFFEE DATE!
    Oh my favorite shop ever was one in my college town, but those days are long gone so I actually prefer a little tea shop down in the village near my home. And for coffee, well Starbuck’s {hazelnut latte} or Panera {cappuccino} will do!

    What would I tell you? How much I am overwhelmed by God’s grace on my life and how much I desperately need Him to work through me daily…especially in the places I feel so darn weak and weary!

    Oh, Sarah, I really wish we could do this in real life. Wanna come for a visit? Or at least schedule a phone chat?

Leave a reply

