inspiration-driven kitchen: farm your markets, friends.

Plans for your weekend? No? I’ve got you covered: FARMERS’ MARKETS.

If you’re in Kansas City, you’ll find a wide variety of farmers’ markets in our metro area. Farmers’ markets give you a chance to connect with local farmers, get those critical fruits & veggies into your diet, experiment with new recipes and more.

Mr. S. and I have pretty different backgrounds. He grew up in the country, and I grew up in the suburbs of a big city.   Our ideas of where food comes from are different.

When I went to college in Missouri, I admittedly brought with me a turned-up nose about farming. Pair that with a foodie and you have the makings of a hypocrite.

Exhibit A? Mr. S.’s grandma offered us some brown eggs from her chickens. Having been exposed only to white eggs, I asked how to cook the brown kind.

Yikes. Picture me beet red.

Visiting a farmers’ market, to me, feels like home these days. It’s getting back to the community’s roots — no pun intended. These unique shopping experiences are what connect me to those who labor to prepare our food.

God made farmers. Y’all, I officially discard my stereotypes. God made farmers.

So if you’re visiting a farmers’ market this weekend, might I suggest a recipe?

Fruit salsa

Ingredients:

2 fresh peaches, chopped
1 fresh apple, peeled and chopped
2 kiwis, peeled and chopped
1 1⁄4 cups fresh strawberries, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon lime peel, grated

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients, mixing gently. Chill in refrigerator for 20 minutes;; serve over vanilla ice cream or with graham crackers.

Leave a reply

