on kiddos and the Edna Adan Mother’s Day Project

The first time I was in a publication, I was in Kindergarten. It was 100 Day at school — yep, the 100th day of the school year. My pal Giselle and I were photographed counting 100 Cheerios for the occasion. My parents bought a dozen copies of that day’s newspaper and clipped the photo for essentially every relative.

Their enthusiasm about the whole being-in-publications thing never waned. My parents consistently encouraged me as a writer. They cheered me on with each writing endeavor, supported my creativity and stood behind my writer quirks.

Shouldn’t every kiddo get the same thumbs-up?

In the spirit of loving kiddos, I’m humbled to share about a new project my sweet friend Lacy is spearheading, celebrating parents and kiddos everywhere and aiding efforts to end maternal and infant mortality in Somaliland. I’m not a parent myself. But I am committed to loving the littles of tomorrow, no matter what.

First things first: God has called each of us to our own areas of influence. Friends, reach out in your homes, your neighborhoods. Reach out in your communities. Reach out in your cities, your states, your world . . . reach out where you are called.

If you feel called to be a cheerleader for littles and their parents, listen up.

The health of the people of Somaliland is among the worst in Africa, with one of the highest maternal and infant mortality rates in the world. Every year, one baby in eight dies in infancy, while nearly 4,000 Somali women die in childbirth.

somaliland

Somaliland, in Africa

This tragedy can be attributed in large part to the long civil war, which brought about the death or departure of nearly all of the country’s trained health care professionals. But we can take heart in this: a hospital is working to change these statistics and improve maternal health. From educating midwives and fighting female genital mutilation, the Edna Adan University Hospital is making big changes for the people of Somaliland.

Read more about it here: http://www.ednahospital.org/

So back to Lacy. She and the also delightful Jennifer have created a beautiful print, with proceeds benefiting the Edna Adan University Hospital in Somaliland.

beautiful-thing-you-have-made

Lacy says:

One of my favorite quotes from Julia Childs’ memoir is something her chef said to her. “You never forget a beautiful thing that you have made.” While Bugnard was talking about food, I can’t help but think of motherhood. I’ve had this quote in my mind for nearly a year, and always thought it would make a neat art print to put up in my home to serve as a reminder of my role as a mother.

If you’ve read or watched Half the Sky, by Nick Kristof, you might recognize the name.
These prints are gorgeous, timely and meaningful. Moms will love it, of course. And anyone who values and cherishes creation will love it too.
edna3
Prints are on sale now. Join us in helping the children and parents of Somaliland and celebrating the children and parents in our own lives.
Leave a reply

