for Boston and beyond

Initially, I’d planned an interview with my friend Stacy Williams, the founder of Finding Purpose in the Pain, for today’s blog post. She launched an e-book yesterday, called 21 Days to Finding Purpose in the Pain. Over a month ago, I promised to share this interview and spread the word about her book, her book that had touched me deeply.

I still plan to share my interview with Stacy in coming weeks. But the world has a way of flipping things over sometimes. Given the tragedies of yesterday, I just felt called to change things up a little bit.

My heart is heavy. Yours too? My heart is heavy for Boston. My heart is heavy for everyone facing tragedies and pain in our hearts, in our families, our bodies, our neighborhoods, our relationships, our friends.

That’s the thing about tragedy: sometimes it’s on the news and often it’s not. Pain lasts long after the newscasters have moved on the tragedy is out of the headlines.

Stacy’s book is a precious devotional, designed not to be a quick fix for our pain and our tragedies, but designed instead to bring us to our knees and see God in the midst of the mess. Her book, Stacy says:

“. . a journey through my experiences and God’s Word on how to find purpose in pain. I’m pretty sure I’m writing this book for me as much as I am for anyone else. I need these reminders often when life is challenging and the future is uncertain. God can bring purpose out of everything, even the hard things. This book is for anyone who is walking or has ever walked through a hard journey in life.”

Stacy eloquently weaves together her story of suffering with the greater story, the one we always share. Pertinent everyday — and today especially — is a verse Stacy shares from Lamentations:

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

And in our darkest moments, when we cannot even bring ourselves to pray . . . God is with us even then. Stacy reminds us:

“Do you feel alone with the weight of the world on your shoulders? In the midst of your struggle, cry out to Jesus. Tell Him you’re weak. Admit that you don’t know what to pray. He will meet you in your brokenness. He will intercede for you. The Bible says He is the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3). His power is made perfect in our weakness. When we are weak, He is strong! (2 Corinthians 12:9-10).”

As the things of this world crumble, Christ is the solid rock.

21 Days to Finding Purpose in the Pain is available as an e-book through Amazon. Check back here next week for a full interview with Stacy and a book giveaway. I invite you to join me today in prayer for those impacted by the tragedy in Boston and those facing tragedies of their own.

For Amazon

Leave a reply

