on the color wheel and a creative heart

My favorite project in first grade art class was the color wheel. We each got a bigger-than-our-faces cardboard circle and the brightest colored paints in the classroom. All we needed, the teacher explained, was red plus yellow plus blue.

color wheel edited

At first, I was confused and surprised. Thinking back to my treasured box of 92 Crayola crayons at home, there were surely more than three colors.

Those three, we learned, were merely building blocks. The potential was so very great.

It blew my first-grader mind and still inspires me today. Every shade, hue and pigment originates from just three simple building blocks . . .

Join me today on the wonderful Sarah Martin’s blog, Live it Out.

And if you’re new here? Inspiration-Driven Life is this collective quest for a life well-lived, and I’m so thankful you stopped by. I’m Sarah, an inspiration-driven writer and communicator. I celebrate community, coffee, cardigans, cabernet and, yes, creativity.

PS — My favorites on the color wheel? Red and yellow, thanks for asking 🙂

Connect with me here on Inspiration-Driven Life, on Twitter and on Facebook. xoxo.

Linking up herehere, herehere today.
One thought on “on the color wheel and a creative heart

Leave a reply

