what unattractive toes have to do with community.

It hit 70-plus degrees here in Kansas City yesterday. Yes, it’s January, and no, I can’t believe it. Bizarre winter.

75 degrees

But weirdness aside, I wore my Chacos. Yes, my favorite sandals.

Wearing sandals left my feet bare, totally un-prepped for sandal weather. Calluses, dry skin, chipped and unpainted toenails . . . not the prettiest picture.

But these toes of mine faced the sun anyway. I’ll go so far as to call it necessary sun.

chaco sandals

Community, I’m learning, is a little like that. Community is sandals in January: not ready, not primped, not prepped . . . but what a joy anyhow. 

For some reason, I thought this move would be easier. Because I knew the highways at least, and I had favorite restaurants and kind friends and a church. All of which made this transition both easier and harder, at the same time.

We’re all bare feet in sandals in the midst of winter at our best, really. We do our best and we’re still bare. We do our best and we’re still dry and heavy and in need of love and sun.

Community is that sun, that balm. We’ll never have perfect toes, try as we might. But embracing those sub-par toes is where we find life. Take off our socks and we’re all vulnerable, all a little yucky . . . but crazy gorgeous. 

2 thoughts on “what unattractive toes have to do with community.

  1. Love your analogy . . “Community is sandals in January: not ready, not primped, not prepped . . . but what a joy anyhow.” It resonates too because my toes NEVER seem ready for spring, and I have those same Chacos!

Leave a reply

