26 celebrations // reflection (and a giveaway!)

Around my Golden Birthday, I got sick of being a day-after-Christmas baby and decided to celebrate big, celebrate generously and celebrate all year long. I’m calling it 26 Celebrations, and I’m still just as jazzed about it as I was last month. This is the first of these celebrations.
26 celebrations logo

Last week, in an effort to streamline and de-clutter, I organized our bookshelf. This new method is illogical, honestly, but it’s gorgeous. I color-coded the thing! Glorious, right?

color coded bookshelf

As I organized, I reviewed our collection. Among the books are journals, full of realizations and understanding and struggles and joys and truth. I flipped through a few of them and noticed three trends.

One, I prefer black ink. Sure, the occasional color pen makes an appearance. But it’s overwhelmingly black, gel ink. The UniBall pen, honestly, is my favorite.

Two, these journals are mostly Moleskine. Something about those pages, the elastic closure, the ribbon, the butter-like exterior. Delightful.

And three, so many entries were written over coffee. In coffee shops, with a cup of coffee at home . . . you get the picture.

Crisp moments of clarity, moments of realization, moments of growth . . . now these are moments to celebrate. One of the best gifts I’ve learned to give myself is the gift of reflection.

Reflection matters as a writer and communicator, sure. But it’s a critical part of the human experience, really.

So it makes sense that the first of 26 Celebrations is a giveaway including these three favorite things! I can’t wait to share one Moleskine journal, one set of black ink Uniball pens and one $10 gift card to Starbucks. (Although if you happen to be in KC, I’ll get you a giftcard to a local place. Just how I roll.)

favorite things

The so fine print:

  • Prize: A collection my favorite things — one Moleskine journal, one set of black ink Uniball pens and one $10 giftcard to Starbucks
  • To enter: Comment on this post with the words “CELEBRATE ME” and tell me . . .
  • Bonus question (not necessary to be entered, but still fun): . . . what are your favorite things to set the scene for reflection?
  • Giveaway closes: Thursday, January 24 at 11:59 pm EST.
  • Number of winners: One. 
  • Prize ships: The United States or Canada (sorry, overseas friends! Still love you!)
  • Other stuff: One entry per e-mail address is permitted. The winner will be selected randomly and announced on Friday, January 25.

Happy reflecting, my friends.

(UPDATE 1/24/13 — Giveaway is now closed. Thanks for those who entered!)

19 thoughts on “26 celebrations // reflection (and a giveaway!)

  1. CELEBRATE ME:
    (beyond a mug of hot tea or coffee…) I like to reflect by going out and taking photos or by looking back at past photos I’ve taken. I’m trying to do a better job of writing things down…but that’s still a struggle!

  2. CELEBRATE ME:
    To set the stage for reflection, a warm drink and comfy fleece are a must. Close behind are some candles and good, reflective music, and solitude!

  3. Celebrate me! I find myself reflecting and remembering friendships (like you and your dork of a husband!) when visiting familiar places or listening to old music.

  4. I love the idea of 26 Celebrations! CELEBRATE ME! Reflections for me come when I’m curled up on the couch, fuzzy blanket and hot coffee in hand. My go-to Bible is with me, and my journal with the light and perfectly-spaced lines and my mechanical pencil are in hand. And I just start writing something…anything…and the reflection and thoughts come. It’s glorious.

  5. Celebrate me (and you)! Reflection comes with a combination of good music, my little red Bible, my Moleskine, prayer requests from friends, and/or a little glass of wine.

  6. CELEBRATE ME
    I love to have it very quiet, be in pajamas/comfy lounge-around clothes, in bed, pillows all around, animals sleeping, and writing in a journal. I tend to need to write things down for me to focus very long.

  7. CELEBRATE ME:

    For me, a playlist of music Ive listened to over the years will instantly transport me into the right mood for memories and reflections.

  8. Celebrate me: ….your blog reminds me to dig out my old journals so they are more accessible, Sarah.! Sunday night is my best night to look back and ahead.

  9. “Celebrate Me”…reflections mostly come when I am outside with my camera and seeing God’s beauty all around me through the little eye-piece of my camera. I wish I would have written down all the memories and growth over the years.

Leave a reply

