one word 2013: celebrate.

Celebrate came to me in the middle of November, actually. I’ve been thinking about the word for awhile, and the more I think about it, the more I realize how much I need it . . . and how much we need it. Connect was my one word for 2012. And celebrate will be my one word for 2013.

Celebrate is one of those precious verbs that becomes a noun to describe an occasion, an adjective and adverb to describe an attitude and a way of living. Celebrate, celebration, celebratory.

celebrate - image

Celebrate is just as much about the heart as it is the act.

A close cousin to glorify, yes? Glorify, glory, glorious. Glory is something of weight, of beauty, of significance.

We were created to glorify. We were created to celebrate.

I spend much of life in the active verb zone. You too? Doing, creating, working, working, working. None of that is bad, and it can be oh-so good.

But without an attitude of celebration behind whatever we’re doing, whatever we’re working on, it all quickly becomes out of focus. So celebrate is that pair of glasses that makes things crisp and easily seen once again.

Much of this world is a mess. An anxious, depressing mess. But to celebrate is to see the good in spite of that. T0 celebrate is to love, to honor, to advocate in spite of what’s imperfect.

Bigger still, to celebrate is to see the good because of that. It’s praising regardless, noticing and honoring the beauty within everything.

9 thoughts on “one word 2013: celebrate.

  1. I’m so excited for this word! I’ve really been into celebrating lately, too, I think it’s one of the things that adults lose all too often, along with creativity and dreams. 🙂 Love love!

    • Thanks, friend! I anticipate a 2013 full of celebrating together. And creativity and dreaming are both wonderful gifts, precious parts of celebration for sure! Love you, Erin.

    • Annie — you know me WELL. I enjoyed looking through this series today, and it was just what I needed to get me started for the new year.

      I simply adored much of what she wrote. Especially? “Celebrate because not many people do. Celebrate because it is your version of praise. Celebrate because it is spiritual. Celebrate because it is your calling.”

      What a precious prayer . . . Amen!

    • THANK YOU, Natalie! What a gift, right? That we serve a God who not only permits, but ENABLES celebration . . . He’s a winner. Grateful to have you, friend!

  2. So much to celebrate. It should be a great year ahead.

    Epiphany is my word for 2013. I’m excited to see God revealed in new ways in the coming year.

  3. Pingback: wedded wednesdays: on broken things. « inspiration-driven life

Leave a reply

