five minute friday: graceful (notes on a move)

Mere hours until we embark on the next leg of this journey. Mere hours until we load that U-Haul and get rolling. After a weekend of out-of-the-U-Haul, then into-the-storage unit, I fly back for my last week in Indiana.

As I transition, I just want to finish well. I just want to finish with grace. Graceful.

My heart just bursts for those around me, and I want them to know that. Mr. S. hits roadblocks and keeps working in spite of it all, and I’m so proud of him, and I want him to know that. This community has meant more to me than words can say, and I want to communicate that.

I want to do it all. I want to do it gracefully.

And then there’s the matter of returning. I want to return well. I’m afraid of bridges burned and ties strained and connections severed. I want to get connected and dig deep roots and bloom and love big.

I can only hope for my newest neighbors to look gracefully towards me. Much baggage I bring, much baggage I will unpack.

Linking up with Lisa Jo’s Five Minute Friday again this week.

11 thoughts on “five minute friday: graceful (notes on a move)

  1. I’ve moved quite a bit, and this I know–there is always grace for the journey, for what we leave behind and what we walk towards.

  2. Hey there. I’m coming to you for the first time from FMF, but just read your previous post to catch up on your news. It sounds exciting! Thinking of you as you make this transition, and hearing your heart to do it well, and to love people well both behind and after. I’m excited that you have the courage to call yourself a writer – I am still in the stage of ‘almost-writer’, I think! Blessings.

    • Tanya, so grateful that you visited today! Calling myself a writer has been such a difficult part of this process, for certain! I can’t wait to visit your blog and read more about your journey, new friend.

  3. Your comment “I want to do it all” grabbed my heart. I realized today I’m a girl who wants to do it all because I don’t want to miss out. However, in doing it all – I fail, falter and need much grace. Today I stepped out of somethings to focus on my areas of strength. I’m thankful God gives MUCH grace for this journey. Blessings.

  4. Just make sure that your baggage is brightly colored and sparkly like mine…people love that stuff. 😉 Miss you and Mr. S! Lots of love and luck to you, my dear. We should catch up once the two of you get settled. Maybe I’ll actually have fewer boxes sitting around my own new place by then. Love love.

  5. Sarah,

    It has been a while since I have visited the SDG group member’s blog but I am slowly making the rounds and today Im reading you. I can understand the fear of burning bridges and I hope that your new community will bring many opportunities for meaningful relationships.

Leave a reply

