five minute friday: Connect.

Connect. Oh, it’s been a precious word to me, so precious. I chose it in early January 2012 as my word for the year, and so it’s with mixed feelings that I look back, sitting here in August, at the year so far.

Connect . . . connection . . . connected. This year has been one of much uncertainty, but many blessings when I turn my eyes to search for them. And every blessing, in some way, has come from a connection.

Friendship. I couldn’t be more grateful for friends. Friends near, friends far. Friends who are so similar it’s like looking in a mirror. Friends who couldn’t be more different and it’s exciting. Friends professionally, friends personally. Connecting with friends reminds me that I couldn’t be less alone in this world. 

The older I get, the more the line between friends and family blurs. I love that sort of connection. I love that blurry line.

Mr. S. Our second year of marriage and praise God, we’re hanging in there. Connecting with him keeps our marriage strong. Even a cup of coffee before work together, a sweet email during the day . . . like strands of rope, they’re weak on their own but create such solidarity when connected. 

Christ. Oh that rich, rich grace. Grace I don’t deserve, that’s new every day . . . I’m full of praise and awe. I trip and fall and tumble and cripple and that grace is constant. He carries me.

Connection sometimes slips into life, but more often than not, it requires big work. It requires work of the heart and work of time and work of energy and giving giving giving of oneself.

But in connection, like the best gifts, it’s not about what we get. To connect, I’m learning this year, is to give.

Linking up with Lisa Jo’s Five Minute Friday again this week. Love this stuff.

18 thoughts on “five minute friday: Connect.

    • It sure is, Mary Beth. Not an easy lesson to learn, but worth it when we do! Thanks for visiting, friend.

  1. Powerful and truthful ending: “But in connection, like the best gifts, it’s not about what we get. To connect, I’m learning this year, is to give.”
    Wonderful post…
    Have a blessed Friday!!

  2. “The older I get, the more the line between friends and family blurs. I love that sort of connection. I love that blurry line.”

    Oh this was beauty-filled! Thank you for being open and real and writing your perspective. 🙂 Incredibly happy I stopped by.

  3. I am so honored that I am one of those connections you made this year. You have blessed me more than you can know and I am soooo thankful for you!! You have been one of the best things to happen to me online since I took up blogging again this year.

    • Tammy! You couldn’t be sweeter, friend. Your comment means so much to me — and YOU mean so much to me too, girl!

Leave a reply

