on an inspiration-driven year, and how it’s not about me.

On July 4, 2011, I had a conversation with the brother of a friend. He mentioned an online startup he was creating, and I mentioned my writing. I said I’d love to chat further about partnering, and perhaps work with him. We exchanged email addresses and a few days later, I found an email from him in my inbox. He asked if I had a blog, and my face turned red as I typed my reply. No, I did not. I had literally hundreds of writing samples to share, but no blog.

He was not the first to ask about my blog, or lack thereof. Many people had asked before. Maybe he was the 50th or the 100th to ask, the number doesn’t matter. Something clicked.

Months after getting married, this was one of the darkest seasons of my life. There was much hope, yes; I’d married a fantastic man, I’d just started a new job, I’d just launched my writing and consulting business. And yet it was dark and lonely; I hadn’t connected to my new community yet, and I felt spiritually wishy-washy.

My friend (and ah-mazing graphic designer) Jean had spearheaded the name for my business: Inspiration-Driven Communication. And so to start a companion blog, less focused on my business and more on a life well-lived . . . Inspiration-Driven Life just fit. I launched on July 18, 2011, with this post.

365 days later, I celebrate this blog’s first birthday.

And I could go on and on about what it took to keep going, or my top posts of all time, or how my life has changed. But here’s the thing: it’s not about me.

No, it’s not about me at all. Our lives (our inspiration-driven lives, if you will) reach their highest and most meaningful when it ceases to be all about us and starts to be all about others. It’s about loving big and living well and working and dreaming for a greater glory.

Friends — and you’re all friends if you’ve laid eyes on this corner of the web — thank you. Thank you for a year that reignited my creativity. Thank you for a year that expanded my community across continents. Thank you for your encouragement, your comments, your presence here. Thank you for reminding me that I am a writer, and I’m never alone in this endeavor.

So since this isn’t about me, I’d love to connect with you. In lieu of a cupcake and a cocktail with each of you in person, please leave a comment to say hello! Tell me who you are, where you’re from, where/if you blog, Twitter, Facebook, your favorite kind of cupcake . . . anything! I would love nothing more than to meet you. (And if we’ve already met, in real life or online, please say hello again anyway!)

From the bottom of my heart, thank you. Thank you for a life-changing year. Cheers to you, and here’s to many more.

8 thoughts on “on an inspiration-driven year, and how it’s not about me.

  1. Oh how I loved this, Sarah!
    “No, it’s not about me at all. Our lives reach their highest and most meaningful when it ceases to be all about us and starts to be all about others. It’s about loving big and living well and working and dreaming for a greater glory.”
    Amen!

    Happy blogaversary, friend. So thankful you decided to share your heart here — allowing me a chance to get to know beautiful you.

  2. Wow! One whole year. Love it, Sarah. And you! We should make time for a cocktail and/or cupcake in celebration the next time I see your beautiful face!

  3. Beautiful girl, you know all about me, so I’ll skip your requests. But I will tip my hat to you, my dear, for doing a blog that’s “all about others.” I spend so much of my life worrying about others that my blog is all about me – and that’s why I love yours so very, very much. Because it isn’t an exercise in showing how cool you are, but it does that anyway.

    Love love, and I’m excited to call you tomorrow! Erin

  4. a year of blogging…YAY! that’s something to celebrate! many of the things you have written have been just what I needed to hear during this past year which I declared to be my “Personal Year of Jubilee” as I moved toward my 50th birthday. I have been blogging somewhat regularly at http://journey2wonder.wordpress.com and plan to continue to do so, even though I’ve finished the year I set out to “capture.”

    May you have many more years of sharing your heart with others, and in the process, many more years of being changed and shaped and molded by God!

Leave a reply

