this story is going to be one of redemption.

The bathmat outside our shower is completely waterlogged. And frankly, I don’t know how it started. Must have been little by little . . . too much water here, splashing there, too many showers on that one day and no time to dry.

Now it’s soaked and spongy beneath our feet. Clearly, the thing is overwhelmed.

Overwhelmed . . . much like I am when I come to the keyboard and screen to try to tell my story of late.

This story, the one we’ve been living recently, is one of ups and downs and crests and crescendos. One of light and one of darkness — much darkness. Like our waterlogged bathmat, and how to dry it, I just don’t know where to begin.

Perhaps that’s to blame for the chirping crickets on the blog this week: I just don’t know where to begin.

Oh, but I know one thing. I know redemption.

This story is building and growing and changes daily. But it will be a story of redemption. It will be a story of trials redeemed, of difficulties for a greater good, of mish-mosh messes that stay messy but bear fruit.

It’s a story of uncertainty. It’s a story of moving into the unknown . . . it’s a story that changes constantly. I’ll tell you in time. Please trust me, I’ll tell the story in time.

Friends, if you’re the praying type, or the keep-us-in-your-thoughts type, would you? We’re walking through much uncertainty right now and anxiety is creepy-crawling into our souls. Mr. S. is facing it head-on, and I’m trying to love him and help him through it. I’m all about real life and authenticity in the blog world. But, because of the fluid and semi-confidential nature of it all, I can’t go into more detail than this on the blog right now. When things stabilize, I’ll share more. But we would cherish every prayer. Grateful, so grateful. 

Linking up today with Five Minute Friday.

14 thoughts on “this story is going to be one of redemption.

  1. Yes! People can pray, and they don’t need details to give the overwhelmingness of your life to Him … such is the nature of community, such is the nature of the family of God.

  2. Love your analogy of the water logged bath mat and I’ll be praying for you today Sarah. It’s good to have crickets chirping in times like these. You may need to listen more than speak and that’s okay.

  3. Oh my heart….
    Father, what a blessing Sarah has been in my life. She does inspire me to keep driving through this thing we call life. And oh how she needs You today, Lord. Shower her with peace, Father. Wrap Your safe arms around her. Whisper love into her ear. Pick her up if You have to, Lord. Pick them both up. Do the same for Mr S, Father, as they both continue to seek You. You lead the way, Lord. Show it to them–they’ll follow. Thank You for Your grace. mercy. redemption. all the things we need desperately and are just beginning to understand. Thank You. To You be all glory…..

  4. Lifting you both up in prayer. Praying the Lord shows you both patience and guidance during this time of uncertainty. Take comfort in knowing He is in control. XXOO

  5. Pingback: inspiration-driven links, week of 7.1.12 « inspiration-driven life

  6. Yes, ma’am. You will be in my thoughts. You’ve been nothing but supportive of me and deserve more than that back. Just remember that few of us cruise through life and that it’s OK to have a bumpy road.

  7. Will be praying! I’m sorry there is so much anxiety right now. This reminds me of one of my favorite prayers. Thomas Merton wrote it and it was in his book “Thoughts in Solitude.”

    MY LORD GOD, I have no idea where I am going.
    I do not see the road ahead of me.
    I cannot know for certain where it will end.
    Nor do I really know myself,
    and the fact that I think that I am following your will
    does not mean that I am actually doing so.
    But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you.
    And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing.
    I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire.
    And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road
    though I may know nothing about it.
    Therefore will I trust you always
    though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death.
    I will not fear, for you are ever with me,
    and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

Leave a reply

