review & giveaway: Stress Point

Being a 20-something. Never has there been a more mixed season. Here I am in the middle of it, at 25. So far, this decade has harbored the lowest of lows and the highest of highs. It has been ugly and beautiful, trying and joyful.

Why this dichotomy? One word: transition. Oh, transition, what a love/hate relationship we have.

Messy, crazy messy — and perhaps the prettiest mess of my life. My 20s have been a pretty mess because of redemption.

Redemption came first in this realization: I am not alone in this life. What I’m going through, both struggling and celebrating, is common. I am not alone. This hit me just after college graduation, when I watched my peers and friends walk the same emotional, uncertain path.

When I learned about Sarah Martin’s book Stress Point, this we’re all in this together feeling flooded back. Insightfully and oh-so-relevantly, Sarah tackles many of the topics that play such key roles in our 20-something life. Body image, relationships, work/life, making an impact on this world . . . as a young adult, it’s easy to think it’s only me. And we, friends, are not alone. Sarah teaches us in Stress Point that these themes are not unique. But how we handle them can be! How we handle these trials in life can make our communities better places, connect us to those around us and glorify Christ.

Redemption came secondly when I started to look beyond myself for support. In my 20s, I am learning the art of the mutual lean — you lean on me, I lean on you, you know? In my 20s, I learned community. I found support in places I always wanted and in places I never imagined.

This is the kind of stuff I hope I’ll celebrate when I blow out 30 candles in just 4-ish years.

And Sarah Martin — she’s one of the good ones, one of the blessings we 20-somethings can lean on.

I’ll never forget when we chatted on the phone. On. The. Phone. I had a phone call earlier this year with a “real” blogger! Her generosity blew me away. She told me about this book, her ministry, her life and I just marveled at her wisdom and her totally fun spirit. Her movement to rise up for Christ inspired my 30-day practice-to-habit challenge earlier this year.

(Thank you, sweet Sarah.)

Let me tell you, friends, her spirit shines through this book. It’s full of spiritual plus practical, introspective plus outward reflection. 

Furthermore, this book isn’t just for ladies in this decade. It’s a good read for anyone who connects with, ministers to or simply connects with this generation.

And here’s where things get exciting. I’m honored to give away a copy of Stress Point! (Thank you, Sarah, for generously providing this!)

  • Prize: A free copy of Sarah Martin’s brand new book Stress Point.
  • To enter: Comment on this post with the words “STRESS POINT” and tell me . . .
  • Bonus question (not necessary to be entered, but still fun): . . . what do you love about being a 20-something? Or, if you’re older and wiser, what did you love about being a 20-something?
  • Giveaway closes: Sunday, June 17 at 11:59 pm EST.
  • Number of winners: One.
  • Prize ships: The United States or Canada (sorry, overseas friends! Still love you!)
  • Other stuff: One entry per e-mail address is permitted. The winner will be selected randomly and announced on Monday, June 18.

Get connected to Sarah . . .

UPDATE! The giveaway is now closed and I’m excited to share this book with KAREN! New friend, I’ll be contacting you via email for details.

11 thoughts on “review & giveaway: Stress Point

  1. STRESS POINT

    I love the opportunities I’ve had to travel thus far in my 20’s (both long trips and short weekend getaways…and even for business), and even better, amazing friends to travel with!

  2. stress point, one thing i love about being in my twentys is being able to be there to pray with someone to encourge another person to bring a smile to another face to bring some more joy to someones heart .

  3. STRESS POINT (this book sounds amazing!)

    One thing I love about being in my 20s is celebrating all these life “milestones” – my own and my friends’ too. Weddings, babies, new homes, new jobs and all kinds of opportunities.

  4. STRESS POINT

    I love being free. I love embracing this time of singleness, growing in my faith and learning and being refined. I love the possibility of the future, and of today. I love discovering what makes other people come alive, because we are all still young hopeful dreamers. I love encouraging other 20-somethings to chase those dreams and never settle for security/comfort/ease over hard work & passion. I love exploring and discovering this big world. I love thinking that as good as this time is, it gets even BETTER when we get to be bridesmaids and brides and mothers and aunts and grandmothers and old wise women.

  5. STRESS POINT

    I love the idea of so many people around the same age at so many different life points. It’s so exciting!

  6. STRESS POINT

    I am toward the end of my twenties and what I have grown to love most is how God has used every event, good or bad, to help shape into the person he has wanted me to be. When I started my twenties I don’t think I had a lot of direction in my life. I knew I wanted to do something but had a hard time figuring out what. During the past 8 years God has used these years of education, career, singleness to help figure out the direction he wanted me to go. Now I feel God has really used these and many more experiences during my twenties to push me out of my comfort zone and I have done things I wouldn’t have had the courage to do when my twenties begin. My life is still a work in progress but really that is a lifelong journey that won’t end when we hit 30 but I will be sure to enjoy the time I have left in my twenties.

  7. Pingback: an open letter to David McCullough « inspiration-driven life

  8. Hey girl,

    I love this! I am in the middle of my own transitions – not as a twenty something (although I am), but as a soon to be new mama. It is extremely hard to prepare for something so life changing. So thanks for your words of encouragement! LOVE IT!

  9. Sarah,

    Not only are we 20 somethings in this together, but we are all in this together. This is the pilgrim life. That dichotomy you speak of will always exist in this life. Until eternal glory, we are always in transition, living in a broken world and moving toward glory, glory, glory. 🙂 Love you friend.

Leave a reply

