five minute friday: Opportunity

Opportunity shows up and looks us in the face every day. We have two choices. The first: to turn away as we mutter an excuse. The second: to accept it and dive in with our whole hearts.

(Insert Friday Night Lights reference here: Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose.)

Mr. S. moved here in August 2010. We got all married up in January 2011 and then I moved too. Before that, I lived in Kansas City for less than two years. It would have been totally easy (and fair, even!) to just chalk life up to a short timeline and shut down against opportunity. Could have showed up at work on time, left on time, spent time in front of the TV in the evenings and counted down the days until 1.1.11.

And then here? I could have made the same excuse. I could have said newlywed, or wife of a grad student, or just a renter.

What no one tells you about opportunity: it’s scary to say yes, but even scarier to face life after you’ve said no.

Take big steps, friends, even if you think you can’t. Ask big questions, and demand big answers. Love big, and use your talent and your heart when the opportunity arrives.

Side note: Yesterday, I was beyond honored and beyond blessed. Yesterday’s score: Sarah, 1. Anxiety and haters, 0. Thank you, Greater Lafayette and beautiful friends, for believing in me.

Love me some Five Minute Friday — overjoyed again to link up with The Gypsy Mama.

14 thoughts on “five minute friday: Opportunity

  1. SARAH! Congratulations! You are such a big deal. I love it. (And this post, too, by the way!) It’s so easy to just bow out and not step up to the opportunities before you. But life is so much richer when you do.

    Can’t wait to see you this weekend!!!

  2. Sarah, I sent you a Congrats text yesterday about your award. Did you get it? That is such an honor to be recognized in our community for the things you have accomplished in the little time living here. I’m very proud of you!

    • Thank you so much, Jen! You are the best! Thank you for encouraging me from day one! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations. Great opportunity post. Visiting from FMF at Lisa Jo’s. What great advise take big steps. This was a good word prompt, wasn’t it? Thanks for sharing a bit of your story.

  4. great job, sarah! it amazes me how involved in the community you are while you’ve been here. i’m glad you were recognized for all of your efforts. ๐Ÿ™‚ you definitely deserved it!

  5. I have been reading your blog for a few months, and never even realized you were living in my area until I saw this award and “Tippy” caught my eye. Thanks for all you do for our community!

    • Oh Sarah, that’s so sweet of you to say! I really appreciate it! If we’re in the same neck of the woods, I would absolutely love to grab coffee sometime and connect with you!!

Leave a reply

