like that mitten i’m forever losing: perspective

Good morning, friends. Today is either going to be remarkable or ridiculous because of how little sleep Β I scored last night. No major crisis, just one of those nights with eyes unbearably wide open. So that means admiration if this rocks and grace if it doesn’t, okay?

Perspective.

MAINTAIN PERSPECTIVE, I sometimes shout to myself. When I’m blowing that one thing out of proportion, or when I’ve shifted my focus to something totally trivial.

Oh God, I wince as I pray. Help me with perspective. When it’s Him I need to hang onto, and not the crazy of this world.

Like that one mitten that floats in and out of the lost and found box, I’m constantly misplacing and then regaining perspective.

I lose perspective when I take the good but temporary, or the bad but temporary, and give it too much life. When I write it a chorus, rather than the line or two it is due.

So here’s to a quest for balance in perspective, for peace in perspective. For seeing the blessings through the messes and eyes on the glorious Finish Line.

6 thoughts on “like that mitten i’m forever losing: perspective

  1. I can relate Sarah, allowing circumstances to cloud my view of the truth and reality. It is so easy to get caught up in the here and now and miss the curtain He pulls back on the world. I’ve been thinking about that in my posts this week as I return from Europe. Perspective was the perfect word for me today. You communicated well, sleepy eyes and all.:)

  2. “I lose perspective when I take the good but temporary, or the bad but temporary, and give it too much life. ”

    Wow – short but powerful. I read this sentence 3 times – it is a lot to meditate on.
    It’s definitely something I can relate to at the moment – I think blog stats is getting a rather loud chorus at the moment, and it definitely shouldn’t!

  3. popping in from Lisa-Jo’s.
    glad i did…great post…joining you holding onto Him rather than this wacky world as He gives perspective!

  4. Kudos to you, Sarah! For little sleep, you have great perspective, which rarely happens for me. πŸ˜‰

  5. “When I write it a chorus, rather than the line or two it is due.” Oh boy, ain’t that the truth! I’m guilty of that one for sure, and I’m taking that line with me today. πŸ™‚ Here’s to keeping things in their proper place and focusing on the finish line! Well written!

Leave a reply

