on asset building

Last night, I had the privilege of attending a fundraising dinner and awards event for one of my consulting clients. This organization does good work daily, and this event was no exception. The goal of the event was to shine light on students who aren’t often recognized for what they do, students who flourish despite obstacles. Humbling.

The keynote speaker asked us to consider who, in our own lives, was an “asset builder.” That is, an adult who invested in us and believed in us. As we went around the table, every guest had a story to share. Tears welled up in my eyes as images of those who had encouraged me came to mind . . .

Writing teachers, journalism teachers, my Girl Scout leader, mentors, leadership teachers, organization sponsors and so many more have richly invested in me, and I am beyond grateful for it.

And the kicker in it all . . . I’m not sure any of these people thought of themselves as “asset builders.” No, they were just people. I was just a kid who needed a little encouragement, and they generously gave it to me. Simple, and yet life-changing.

Celebrating the accomplishments of those in our lives is a big deal. Maybe not to us, but to the one who is recognized. They say it takes a village to raise a child, right? I think it takes a village to love an adult too.

Speaking of villages, and of love, I am just pleased as punch to have received the Liebster Award, from the marvelous Mountain Missy! Thank you, sweet friend.

“This award we’ve discovered is given to bloggers who inspire you and have less than 200 followers. The Liebster Award takes its name from the German word meaning ‘Beloved, Dearest or Favorite.’” – Quit the Cure (Lisa Ann)

So here’s the best part: I get to nominate a handful of bloggers to receive the award too! You know I love the blogs, so this was a tough decision.

Jenn Adams writes beautiful, encouraging posts about her walk with God.

Emily captures the beauty of the world around us in both photos and words at The Inner Harbor.

Steph shares eloquently about the wonder to be found in the everyday at Everyday Awe.

Melissa and I share “inspiration” in the title of our blogs, and she shares about food, fashion, writing and everything in between on Inspiration and Rough Drafts.

Tara paints joy-to-read, lovely word pictures on Pohlkotte Press.

Fine print: Winners, if you wish to participate, please keep the love going and refer to the instructions below.
1.Link back to the person who gave it to you and thank them.
2. Post the award to your blog.
3. Give the award to 5 bloggers with less than 200 followers that you appreciate and value (It’s a great way to get to word out there about other blogs!!)
4. Leave a comment on the 5 blogs to let them know that they have received this award.

To carry the cliche further . . . I think it takes a village to raise a blogger, don’t you? 🙂

7 thoughts on “on asset building

  1. Thanks for including me in your list, Sarah!

    I love the idea of small blogs encouraging other small blogs. This is a hard stage of the journey, isn’t it? The wondering what the future will hold? And wondering how the writing was when there are only crickets found in the comments?

    Do you know the origin of the Liebster award? It seems like every link I follow takes me to someone else who won it, not to where it was started. Just curious.

    Have a great Wednesday!

    • Stephanie, absolutely! We do need to encourage each other, without question! Grateful, friend, for your encouragement of me! I don’t know the origin of the Liebster Award, but I love a little investigative reporting adventure. I will let you know what I discover!

  2. Hi Sarah—my only “shock” in you getting the blogger award is that you have less than 200 followers…really?? It’s a shame that so many people are missing out on your wise, thought-provoking, encouraging words!!

    • Friend! Your post made me smile. I guess it is tough to know exactly how many followers I have . . . I have yet to hit the 200 mark on visitors for a day, if you are curious. But hey, shameless plus, please pass this along if you like it! 🙂 Thank you so, so much for visiting today.

  3. well, aren’t you the sweetest??? thank you! can’t wait to read the others you have listed. What a great way to expand the reading of other great blogs {yours included.}

  4. Thanks SO much for including me! I’m honored 🙂 It’s been wonderful connecting with you via our blogs, and I admire your thoughtful posts. Writing, community, inspiration… this is what blogs are all about. Keep up the good work, lady!

  5. Thank you, Sarah, for picking me to receive this award. *blush*. I love reading your blog, and now, I’m going to have to check out the other blogs listed. 🙂

Leave a reply

