inspiration-driven kitchen: guacamole salmon

Fish, on its own, is a bit underwhelming. It always needs something, doesn’t it? Beer-battered fish. Deep-fried fish. Teriyaki fish. Glazed fish. Hawaiian fish. Pesto fish. Something-or-other fish.

Like I said, it always needs something.

Mr. S. and I were en route back from Kansas City on Sunday and happened upon one of my favorite NPR shows: The Splendid Table. Barton Seaver, author of For Cod and Country, was a featured guest. The gist of this interview? Eat more fish, and seasonal fish if you can.

Barton offered pairing suggestions for a variety of fish. And when he suggested salmon with guacamole, I knew what I was making for dinner Monday night.

Alarmingly, it wasn’t quite the home run I anticipated.

I always know something is up when Mr. S. asks for the salt. Later, when we discussed the meal over cocktails, he admitted that it wasn’t quite . . . flavorful. The guac was great, we agreed. The fish just lacked . . . something. It was fine; it just didn’t impress quite like I thought it would.

Holy whoa do I hate it when I do that. Botch things up, I mean. Sorry, I said. Hope it wasn’t too terrible, I sighed. Wish I hadn’t done it that way, I said.

Mr. S. wasn’t being hard on me at all. We like to challenge each other in our strengths, and we frequently talk about where we went right (or wrong). He wasn’t being hard on me; I was.

Dinner is, clearly, a more trivial example. But how often do we let our mistakes, our oops moments, our stumbles and trip-and-fall moments haunt us? How often do we resign ourselves to those moments as our identity, rather than an exception to the rule?

It was a good meal and with a tweak or two here or there, it would be a great meal. That’s it. Simple. Mistakes are opportunities to try again and rock it the next time. That’s it. And with that, I share it courageously.

If I would cook this again, I would brush the fish with olive oil and sprinkle salt and pepper on it before baking. That’s what you should do too.

Salmon with Guacamole

Ingredients:
2 medium-sized salmon fillets, rinsed
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt & pepper
2 ripe avocados
1 ripe tomato (I used the roma variety)
garlic, finely chopped (approx. 1 clove)
1 tablespoon lime juice
salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Place raw salmon on a cookie sheet. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 10-12 minutes until done.

While salmon is baking, mash interior of avocados in a bowl with lime juice, garlic and salt. Chop tomato and add to the bowl.

Spread guacamole generously on salmon and enjoy.

6 thoughts on “inspiration-driven kitchen: guacamole salmon

  1. I love guacamole and have no idea why I’ve never considered pairing it with salmon, but that sounds really good. Thanks for the extra tip!

  2. Oh, I’m guilty as charged. I do this all.the.time. ESPECIALLY when I mess up supper…
    but I’m striving to give myself the grace I offer to others.

    And you’ll never believe what I made Sunday for supper: Salmon guacamole wraps! Using spring greens, salmon filets (we had grilled with salt/pepper/other seasons we enjoy), guacamole and sliced tomatoes! My hubby drizzled spicy peppercorn ranch on his from Trader Joe’s — so good.
    and yours is healthier since there was no wrap…. 😉 It was a huge hit, but maybe I’ll try your version next time. Thanks!

    All for Him, with hugs to you, friend.
    Nikki

  3. I love, and I mean “love”, Guacamole, but I’m not a fan of Salmon. I’ll have to try it with Guacamole- that may be the ingredient I’ve been missing. 😉

  4. Sarah-
    I too am guilty of being too hard on myself when I mess up dinner. Especially when the hubby clearly isn’t enjoying it. I apologize over and over. But, I need to realize it’s okay to not make a yummy dinner everynight. It’s okay to screw up.

    • Jen, YES! How hard it is. And I didn’t mention this in my post, but it is even more difficult when the crowd is bigger than two, like when friends are over or I’ve brought a snack to someone’s home. We have to keep reminding ourselves that just because it isn’t perfect, that doesn’t mean it isn’t good. Tough to remember, but good to remember too 🙂

Leave a reply

