five minute friday: delight

Delight. Triple delight, specifically. Or maybe your Chinese food take-out place calls it something else, but you know what I mean. It’s chicken and beef and shrimp, plus vegetables and noodles or rice.

It’s the solution for those of us who just really don’t like to choose. Beef or shrimp or chicken . . . yeah, a choice can be made. But must it? Can’t I have the best of all three worlds?

For that same reason, I find it hard to order from a menu without making one alteration or another. Sally Albright and I? Kindred restaurant-ordering souls.

And I get moderately defensive – I’m not picky, I say, I just know what I like. If the kitchen can make it, it’s not unreasonable and I’m willing to pay extra, why can’t I ask for it? 

Bigger picture: If I’m willing to work for it, why can’t I have it? If you’re willing to work for it, why can’t you have it?

No reason why not.

Sure, the world is ready to give you reasons why you can’t. It’s not on the figurative menu, the world will tell you.

Not on the menu? So what? Go order it.

If you want it? If it’s your dream? Go make an impact. Go make a difference. Go do it. 

I’ve linked up again this week with The Gypsy Mama and Five Minute Friday. The prompt this week was delight.

(When Harry Met Sally restaurant scene image via pickyeaterblog.com.)

17 thoughts on “five minute friday: delight

  1. One of the things I love about the 5 minute Friday crowd is how differently everyone’s post goes on the same word! I would have never connected delight with When Harry Met Sally, but you did a wonderful job on it! I love your motivation for following one’s dream. Good job!

    • Jerri, thank you! Maybe I was hungry when I wrote — but the idea of Triple Delight just came to me. Thank you so much for visiting today!

  2. Thank you for commenting on my post Sarah, and you left a little tease that I just had to come and find out what your “delight” was! I must say, I was thinking, hmmmm, is she referring to afternoon delight? hahaha. But I really want some Triple Delight now! I don’t think we’ve had Chinese of any sort in quite a while. Mmmmm. I’d love some Beef with Broccoli. But anyway, love it. If you want it, go get it!

    • Hey girl! Hahaha, no afternoon delight (although that totally came to mind). Thanks so much, though, for visiting! And yes, Chinese food totally needs to happen soon for me too 🙂 Love your blog!

    • Katie, you are awesome. Thank you, friend, for the encouragement back! I made a note to re-read this post to myself on days when I just don’t feel motivated 🙂

  3. One of my favorite movies, and one of my favorite Five Minute Fridays I’ve read today. What a great comparison and great motivation! Thanks for sharing!!

    • Emily, thanks for your sweet words! Glad you visited today. And by the way, I love the title of your blog. Grace is quite an elephant, for sure! It’s big, it’s unable to be ignored, it’s quite fantastic 🙂

    • Denise, thanks so much! Hey, Chinese food isn’t for everyone 🙂 Glad you liked the post, and glad you like the movie! A fantastic one, yes?

  4. This made me want to jump out of my chair and change the world. (Or at least go out and get something really good to eat.) I love the spark in your delight!

Leave a reply

