best things i’ve read: week of 2.6.12

Every morning on Twitter, I share the best thing I’ve read that day. I read too much wonderful material to not share it, and I share it in hope that it will encourage and challenge you too. Follow me there: @sarahkoci

And if you’d rather take it in leisurely, this is the best of what I’ve read this week. It’s so crazy freezing here in the Midwest, but surprisingly, I still like a cocktail with lots of ice . . .

Monday: Defriending failure on Facebook, by Kaleigh Summers of Rewriting Life. Failure can remind us of where we’ve been and how we’ve grown. But we should not give it the power to hold us back.

Tuesday: The most important part of the creative life, by Jeff Goins. Art cannot be created if there’s no space for it. Or, why I need need need to de-clutter our office.

Wednesday: Mark Driscoll is my new best friend, by Nicole Cottrell of Modern Reject. I was deeply convicted upon reading this. I attend an Acts 29 church (same network as Driscoll’s Mars Hill) and so my ears perk up whenever Pastor Mark appears in the news. By no means do I subscribe to everything that he (or his church) stands for, and if he and I were having a beer, I have some solid questions I would ask him. Above all, Jesus is my God, and Pastor Mark is not. But all of that said, Christians both in and out of the blog world can have this nasty tendency to complain and criticize about others who claim the same faith. And Nicole boldly and beautifully suggests that it is time to stop. Agree or disagree, she says, we need to quit it with the bashing. Our lack of love for each other is a shabby example for the world. Amen, Nicole. Amen.

Thursday: I asked on Twitter, “Best thing I’ve read today? You tell me. Really, tell me what I ought to read today. Itching for something new and want your ideas.” Re-jected. Sadly, no responses that way. So I’ll ask it again here: where should my eyeballs be next week? Introduce me to a new blog. Your favorite, or even your own, maybe.

Friday: Lean into it, by Sarah Styles Bessey on Deeper Story. Especially in the face of pain, sometimes we grow the most when we lean into it. Sarah reminds us that when we wrestle and live out the pain, we sometimes find exactly what we are looking for.

Best thing you’ve read this week? Go. Or even the best thing you wrote this week! Share it here. 

One thought on “best things i’ve read: week of 2.6.12

Leave a reply

