best things I’ve read, week of 1.9.12

Every morning on Twitter, I share the best thing I’ve read that day. I read too much wonderful material to not share it, and I share in hopes that it will challenge and encourage you too. Follow me there —@SarahKoci.

And if you’d rather take it in leisurely, this is the best of what I’ve read this week. Given the weather this weekend, I recommend you read it with the biggest hot chocolate you can find.

MondayTears of a clown, by Mary Kathryn Tyson. She writes eloquently and honestly about a topic so many let no one see, and she boldly reminds us that it’s okay to not be okay.

Tuesday: Living an examined life, by Sarah Markley. I’m guilty of rushing through life without asking the important questions. There is such wisdom in living with intention.

Wednesday: If only political apathy were a spiritual gift, by Preston Yancey. As the political he-said-she-said heats up and we approach the election, Preston makes good points about what a good leader could look like.

Thursday: Gratefully, Disillusioned on Deeper Story by Sarah Styles Bessey. Also about leaders, this challenges the notion that we should expect our church leaders to be perfect. There’s something to be admired when they aren’t perfect and live life humbly.

Friday: Why my life is not a path, by Keith Jennings. Creativity, and what our career paths look like, can rarely be summarized on a bullet pointed resume. Life isn’t a path and that is something to be celebrated.

And one more . . . I continuously find encouragement from Emily Freeman at Chatting at the Sky. I especially cherished For when your future keeps changing. Different seasons in life call for different vocations, and that variety should be viewed as a blessing. Really needed to hear it this week!

What’s the best thing you’ve read this week? 

Leave a reply

