deceased

I work at a museum. Try as we might to reach out to the younger crowd, we have quite a representation from those in their golden years. Sometimes they’re grumpy, but I find most of them delightful.

Every so often, one passes away.

I got an email from our director this morning, requesting that I update the records of two who had passed. The subject line: Deceased. Records should reflect the widows’ names, the email said. Simply put. Plainly stated.

I don’t know those who passed personally. Yet that doesn’t remove meaning from their life. I know nothing of how they lived their life, but because it was a life lived, it carries value. They carry value.

And, even in the trivialities of an email, I find a powerful reminder: we are called to cherish life. Called to celebrate our lives and the lives of those we love, called to live life fully, called to live life gratefully.

One thought on “deceased

Leave a reply

