remember

Numbers I can never remember. Dates, prices, heights, weights, anniversaries, appointments. Without my calendar, I’d be a little lost puppy.

Details I can always remember. The way you looked, the way you smiled (or frowned), the way we walked, the way conversation flowed (or didn’t flow). They way you hugged me and lifted me and lifted my spirits. I remember what you said to me when it’s healing, but I also remember what you said to me when it bites and cuts and stings.

I remember that you’re my only friend who doesn’t like chocolate, and so I won’t send you chocolate-covered strawberries now that your baby boy has been born. I remember that you’re my only friend who hates her birthday and so I won’t send you a birthday card.

And, for the record, that forget-my-birthday thing is fine with me, because I don’t remember numbers anyway.

I’m writing today with 5 MInute Friday from The Gypsy Mama, on “Remember.” Grateful to participate for my first time. How good it feels to stretch these creative writing muscles again!

13 thoughts on “remember

    • Christin, thanks so much! Each statement is a different “you,” and some are friends and others are my husband. So appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

  1. We humans are funny creatures, aren’t we?! (Or at least I am!) If only we would be more intentional about remembering that which matters most~

    Love your thoughts here-
    ~Stacy

    • Stacy, thanks so much! Intentionally remembering . . . that’s something to aspire to for sure. (Enjoyed your blog as well!)

    • Joan, I remember too much sometimes myself. One of my high school teachers always joked about how his students had selective memories. Wish mine was a bit more selective sometimes.

Leave a reply

