on perfection and Tinkerbell (guest post)

Hey there. I’m Sarah, and all I want is to be perfect.

Yes, I’ve uttered those words. Yes, I’ve shared that story. Yes, I’ve confessed: I just want to be perfect.

I loved the Disney Princesses when I was little, coming of age with Ariel especially. But Tinkerbell? Well, she was the rockstar with all the power. No other Disney character could make happen what Tinkerbell did. (Except for the Genie in Aladdin, but that’s a post for another day.)

With just a sprinkle of her fairy dust, she could make anything happen. And I wanted to do that too.

This Tinkerbell condition presented itself when I saw counselor for the first time in my life. I’ll never forget that meeting with the high school social worker about 10 years ago.

“I just want to be perfect,” I said. In that moment, I diagnosed myself. Tinkerbell Condition. With a mere sprinkle of my fairy dust, I wanted to make myself flawless . . .

Friends, I am beyond honored to be sharing as part of the “Women, Their God and Their Struggles” series over at Jenn Adams’ blog today. Please join me there to read the rest.

2 thoughts on “on perfection and Tinkerbell (guest post)

  1. I checked out your post, and wow… I could have said basically the same thing about myself (you got me at “I just want to be perfect” haha). I especially love how you point out that God is the only one who can be perfect. And this part hit home: “Beautifully, in my push towards perfect, I fall further and further from my goal and closer and closer to my God.” What a sign of God’s grace.

  2. I both love and hate how unattainable perfection is. I love it because we’re all flawed…and I hate it because, just like every other over-achiever in existence, I feel like I should be able to get it. To earn it. To make it work, as Tim Gunn would say.

    Recently, I’ve thought that maybe perfection does exist – in our flaws. I’m still working on it…we’ll see what my imperfect brain comes up with. :)

Leave a reply

